Automatic enrolment

From 1 October 2012, and subject to your staging date, all workers must be automatically enrolled into a qualifying pension scheme. This is known as automatic enrolment or auto-enrolment. 

For the purpose of auto-enrolment, workers are put into three different categories depending on how much they earn and their age.

The categories are:

  • eligible jobholders
  • non-eligible jobholders
  • entitled workers

Only eligible jobholders are automatically enrolled. Entitled workers are not automatically enrolled, but can make an election to join. To help employers in the LGPS, the Local Government Association (LGA) have released a guide. 

The below table (2020/2021) shows how the different types of workers are classified: